Portland Trail Blazers win the 2018 NBA Summer League

2018 NBA Summer League Championship Game MVP KJ McDaniels #PortlandTrailBlazers


It was another awesome MGM Resorts NBA Summer League this year.  Last year’s defending champions went up against the Portland Trail Blazers for a second chance at winning the trophy.   It was a disappointing loss for the Lakers this year, having to go home without the trophy. The Trail Blazers dominated the entire game.  The Lakers were not on top of their game. The Lakers 6-5 guard Josh Hart was ejected from the game in the fourth quarter for arguing with referees.  The Trail Blazers defeated the Lakers 91-73.



Championship game MVP was given to KJ McDaniels.  Although Hart was ejected a media panel selected him as this years NBA Summer League MVP and will headline the All-NBA Summer League Teams.  Hart averaged 24.4 points, 5.2 rebounds and 1.5 steals during the entire summer league. He scored 37 points and nine rebounds against the Cleveland Cavaliers in double over time during the semi-final game leading into the championship game against the Trail Blazers.    


The MGM Resorts All-NBA Summer League First Team includes Chicago’s Wendell Carter Jr., the Los Angeles Lakers Josh Hart, the New York Knicks Kevin Knox, Clevelands Collin Sexton and Milwaukee’s Christian Wood.  The Second Team includes Phoenix’s Deandre Ayton, Portland’s Wade Baldwin IV, Memphis’ Jaren Jackson Jr., the Los Angeles Lakers Sviatoslav Mykhailiuk and Atlanta’s Trae Young.


This year’s summer league marked the highest-ever attendance with 139,972 fans, setting an NBA Summer League record.  Last year the Lakers won against the Trail Blazers 110-98. Lonzo Ball was named the 2017 NBA Summer League MVP and Kuzma Scores was named the 2017 Championship Game MVP.